Wright State University is a research university that is open for public and that is located in Fairborn, Ohio which is outside Dayton. It offers, masters, bachelors, doctoral and associate degree level. Its branch campus is located at the Grand Lake St. Mary’s. It has three schools and eight colleges which include Lake Campus, University College, Science and Mathematics, Raj Soin College of Business, Nursing and Health, Liberal Arts, Engineering and Computer Science, Education and Human Services. The schools include Professional Psychology, Graduate School and Boonshoft School of Medicine.images (1)

Military Service

The land that this institution is using was being donated by the United States Air Force which was an excess acreage of the Wright Patterson Air Force Base. It is because of this that this institution holds firm into its purpose of providing education to its students.

Aside from that, it offers Air Force ROTC as well as Army ROTC programs which is in the campus and is called as Raider Battalion and Detachment 643. The ROTC program has cross town schools of Cedarville University, Sinclair Community College and University of Dayton. In addition to that, it is largest of the AFROTC detachment in the northern eastern part of the region.

Greek Organizations

It is open to acknowledging Greek Organizations which is also known to host five North American Interfraternity Conference fraternities, five National Panhellenic Conference sororities, and one local fraternity.  The following are NIC Fraternities which includes Sigma Phi Epsilon, Sigma Phi Delta, Phi Sigma Phi, Phi Kappa Tau, and Delta Tau Delta.  NPC Sororities includes Zeta Tau Alpha, Theta Phi Alpha, Kappa Delta, Delta Zeta, and Alpha Xi Delta. The local fraternity only includes Beta Phi Omega.


The athletic teams participate in 15 varieties of sports at the NCAA division I level. Aside from that, it is part of the Horizon League. Wolf is its mascot that this institution uses.  Its sports includes tennis, swimming and diving, soccer, golf, cross country, basketball, baseball, soft ball, track and field, and volleyball.

Historically, the athletic program of the Wright State University began in the year 1968. It has all in all 200 American Athletes that had shared winnings in athletic sports like basketball championship in the year 1983. In the year 1994, this institution became a member of the Mid Continent Conference which is presently known as Summit League.  Notable athletic achievements were basketball national championship, diving and swimming teams. The men’s teams have actually bagged six out of thirteen conference championships all in all by the time it started joining the conference games. Its basketball team has been in the national spotlight a lot of times ever since the program have been moved to the Division I in the year 1987 to 1988.

As made mention, its mascot is a wolf and its character is being termed as rowdy rider which is a red bearded Viking that has a horned helmet. This figure emerged in the year 1986.  Their athletic colors are gold and green. This institution is often called as the raiders.